Jane Grover – Daughter of Thomas Grover

Sister Jane Grover recorded the following incident:

“One morning we thought we would go and gather gooseberries. Father Tanner … harnessed a span of horses to a light wagon and, with two sisters by the name of Lyman, his little granddaughter, and me, started out. When we reached the woods we told the old gentleman to … rest himself while we picked the berries.

“It was not long before the little girl and I strayed some distance from the rest, when suddenly we heard shouts. … We walked forward until within sight of Father Tanner, when we saw he was running his team around. … As we approached we saw Indians gathering around the wagon, whooping and yelling as others came and joined them. We got into the wagon to start when four of the Indians took hold of the wagon wheels to stop the wagon, and two others held the horses by the bits, and another came to take me out of the wagon.

“I then began to be afraid as well as vexed, and asked Father Tanner to let me get out of the wagon and run for assistance. He said, ‘No, poor child; it is too late!’ I told him they should not take me alive. His face was as white as a sheet. The Indians had commenced to strip him—had taken his watch and handkerchief—and while stripping him, were trying to pull me out of the wagon. I began silently to appeal to my Heavenly Father.

“While I was praying and struggling, the Spirit of the Almighty fell upon me and I arose with great power; and no tongue can tell my feelings. I was happy as I could be. A few moments before I saw worse than death staring me in the face, and now my hand was raised by the power of God, and I talked to those Indians in their own language. They let go the horses and wagon, and all stood in front of me while I talked to them by the power of God. They bowed their heads and answered ‘Yes,’ in a way that made me know what they meant.

“The little girl and Father Tanner looked on in speechless amazement. I realized our situation; their calculation was to kill Father Tanner, burn the wagon, and take us women prisoners. This was plainly shown me. When I stopped talking they shook hands with all three of us and returned all they had taken from Father Tanner, who gave them back the handkerchief, and I gave them berries and crackers. By this time the other two women came up, and we hastened home.

“The Lord gave me a portion of the interpretation of what I had said, which was as follows:

“ ‘I suppose you Indian warriors think you are going to kill us? Don’t you know the Great Spirit is watching you and knows everything in your heart? We have come out here to gather some of our father’s fruit. We have not come to injure you; and if you harm us, or injure one hair of our heads, the Great Spirit shall smite you to the earth, and you shall not have power to breathe another breath. We have been driven from our homes, and so have you; we have come out here to do you good, and not to injure you. We are the Lord’s people and so are you; but you must cease your murders and wickedness; the Lord is displeased with it and will not prosper you if you continue in it. You think you own all this land, this timber, this water, all the horses. Why, you do not own one thing on earth, not even the air you breathe—it all belongs to the Great Spirit’ ” (“I Talked to Those Indians in Their Own Language,” in Leon Hartshorn, comp., Remarkable Stories from the Lives of Latter-day Saint Women, 1:26–28).

Leave a Reply

